Spasm Chasm

Ache-1437

Deep within a dark dank place, hidden from the human race.

I sit.

I feel alone.

The pain is deep and winding.
My muscles ache and twitch.
No drugs flow through my veins.
If they did, they’d only make me itch.

These oddities often manifest, quite simply on their own.

My legs are locked, my arms are torn, it even hurts to smile.
A locked jaw, I want no more, I’m no longer mobile.
A sudden jerk of pre convulsion, pain of mind without emotion.
A limb, my face, but no trace, left for anyone to see.

The abyss of fibres rip, without sound, people pass by unnoticeably.

The Spasm Chasm I not implore, consumes all of my being.
Although I feel it deep within, it’s not for all, too seeing!
On my own, I sit at home, without choice or empathy.
I really want this to end, it’s been like this days.

When will it end?
Will I mend?

My body, convolutes, a random dance.

Confusion of verse betrays me, Fibro Fog, belated me.

The mountain of stairs, not that there’s many, is simply to hard to climb.
It’s times like these that make me ache, with throbbing and pulsation.
Pins like bladed needles walk my back, where art though compassion oh great creator.
My words like medicine heal my soul, the Spasm Chasm has its hold.

This verse, full of gaping, nonsensical confusion.
This is how the Spasm Chasm consumes you!

My world, its illusion.

By Stuart Otway-Smith

An attempt to describe in poetry what Muscle Spasms feel like, a symptom of Fibromyalgia / Chronic Pain Syndrome.

National Fibromyalgia & Chronic Pain Association
Mark the date for May 12 National Fibromyalgia Awareness Day!

7 comments

  1. Ow! Oh, please read my adventure with acupuncture post. I found out yesterday that many foods cause Fibromyalgia and it is especially caused by Leaky Gut Syndrome. I learned so much. I was thinking of you yesterday. I am experimenting with a lot and posting. I hope it may be useful for you. XO XO

  2. Monique"s Fibro Community · April 25, 2012

    Thank you for those words. This the the first pre longed flare up that I have ever had, and had no idea how to describe it. You have managed to put on words what my body has been conveying to me for the past week and a half. Thank you for that.

    • Stuart Otway-Smith · April 25, 2012

      It is not my best work by far and I appreciate your comments the confusion of the text portrays my mind.

  3. midlifeblogin · April 27, 2012

    Hat’s off to you on this spectacular poem. I’ve been dealing with Fibromyalgia and other auto immune disorders for several years now and can empathize with what/how you are feeling. While reading your work, there many certain times I felt as though you were speaking directly to me. It takes a very special person to put such thoughts to pen and in such a bitingly truthful and open manner. Thank you for your poem. I wish you many “fibro fog free” days to come!!!

  4. Pingback: Isolation « Smile if your sexy!

Leave a Reply

