Isolation

Here I stand alone again, waiting for the pharmacology train.
Misplaced by mistrust, thrown away among the muck.
I stare at the tracks, that bled my arms dry.
The only train to keep appearance, says destination goodbye.

I stand then sit at the station, I wait in anguish at the situation.
All the trains pass by me, there not for me to ride.
Quarantined inside my body, like a caged animal I solemnly.
Await for the conductor to call, my ticket of pain-free divorce.

Far away from buildings or places, out of phase I stare aimless.
At the faces that pass on by, so fast, without care, am I even there.
Cut off from the world around me, but I still feel the people surround me.
Will the train of destitution arrive, if not, how will I strive?

Like a diseased patient I lay in wait, a guessing game from a doctor’s fate.
Food to which I should not have eaten, side effects that fill my plate.
How do I change my state, it’s too late for contemplation.
So I isolate my self, from you, from me, and all that the world can be.

By Stuart Otway-Smith

An attempt to describe in poetry what Isolation feels like, a symptom of Fibromyalgia / Chronic Pain Syndrome.

National Fibromyalgia & Chronic Pain Association
Mark the date for May 12 National Fibromyalgia Awareness Day!

4 comments

  1. amras888 · April 27, 2012

    A very good attempt. This poem reminds of my dreams during the early days of my falling ill. I was never quite sure what those dreams meant until reading these lines just now. Unavoidable isolation. Thanks Stuart.

    • Stuart Otway-Smith · April 28, 2012

      Our fear of being alone is sometimes what makes us feel the loneliest.

  2. sweetopiagirl · April 28, 2012

    Reblogged this on InspiredWeightloss!.

Leave a Reply

